Optical Suppliers Guide

Thankyou to our Headline Sponsors above

New AOP Councillors Listed Here

New AOP Council members announced  

The Association of Optometrists announces 14 council appointments    

The Association of Optometrists is pleased to announce appointments to 14 designated posts on its Council.

Adam Sampson, AOP Chief Executive
, said: “I’m delighted to be welcoming our new councillors, who join the AOP’s 34-strong Council to represent different segments of the profession and members in their community across the UK. It is a great asset to any organisation to have such a broad range of knowledge to draw on to inform our policy work and services for members, especially in what is a hugely pivotal time for the profession.”

Mr Sampson thanked current and departing Councillors who he commended for: “their exceptional dedication and hard work” also acknowledging the ‘significant levels of engagement in this year’s process.”

Incoming Chair of AOP Council, Emma Spofforth said: “We appreciate and thank all the members who stepped forward this year. We saw a huge increase in the number of applications and as always the standard was incredibly high – making the appointments process all the more difficult.”

The current AOP Council is made up of 14 elected members who represent areas across the UK, and 20 councillors with designated positions representing membership groups within the AOP.

Applications were open from 16 February to 15 March 2023, with the AOP Appointments Committee making the final decision on the designated posts on the 26 April.

AOP Councillors will begin their terms of office on 7 June 2023. The full list of Council members can be found at www.aop.org.uk/councillors

GRAFTON Optical Equipment Suppliers