Thankyou to our Headline Sponsors above

2023 Educator of the Year Awards, submissions invited

IACLE calls for entries for 2023 Educator of the Year Awards

Three contact lens educators from around the world will travel to IACLE’s 4th World Congress and the British Contact Lens Association’s (BCLA) Clinical Conference & Exhibition this year as winners of the 2023 IACLE Contact Lens Educator of the Year Awards.

                                                      IACLE Winners in 2022

IACLE Contact Lens Educator of the Year Awards

The International Association of Contact Lens Educators (IACLE) is offering educators worldwide the chance to become IACLE Contact Lens Educators of the Year and travel to the BCLA’s biennial conference in Manchester, UK.

The 2023 awards ceremony will take place during the Gala Dinner at IACLE’s 4th World Congress, which immediately precedes the BCLA. The title of IACLE Contact Lens Educator of the Year will be awarded to three individuals, one from each of IACLE’s three global regions:

  • Americas
  • Asia Pacific
  • Europe, Africa and Middle East

These awards recognize and award achievements in contact lens education and are sponsored by CooperVision.

The winners will each receive a bursary of up to US$3,000 towards the cost of attending the BCLA this year and permission to use the title 2023 IACLE Contact Lens Educator of the Year for their region.

The IACLE Educator Awards are open to all contact lens educators who have been IACLE members for at least three years. Applicants can either nominate themselves or be nominated by another member or IACLE staff. Educators must demonstrate how they impact their institutions and inspire their students to become future contact lens practitioners.

Director, Global Professional Affairs at CooperVision Karen Walsh said: ‘The IACLE Contact Lens Educator of the Year Awards provides a great opportunity for those involved in teaching the next generation of eye care professionals to be recognized for their work on the international stage. CooperVision, as long-term supporters of these awards, look forward to celebrating with the successful nominees later in the year.’

IACLE President Professor Philip Morgan commented, ‘On behalf of IACLE, I am pleased to announce that nominations for our Educator of the Year Awards are open. One Award is made for each IACLE region – Asia Pacific, Americas and Europe, Africa, Middle East – with the awardees scheduled to receive their awards at our 4th World Congress. I encourage our members to consider nominating themselves or a colleague to be recognized in this way. Thanks to CooperVision for once again sponsoring the IACLE Educator of the Year Awards.’

The deadline for entries for the 2023 awards is midnight (EST) on Friday 17 February. Entries must be submitted using the application form here. To nominate a fellow educator, entries must be submitted using the form here.

Pictured above:

IACLE President Professor Philip Morgan pictured with award winners from 2020, 2021 and 2022 (l-r) Dr Carole Maldonado-Codina (2022), Professor Renée Reeder (2020), Professor Philip Morgan, Dr Lindsay Sicks (2022), Dr Byki Huntjens (2021) and Dr Johanna Garzón (2021), at the 2022 American Academy of Optometry.

Optical Suppliers Guide