Optical Suppliers Guide

Thankyou to our Headline Sponsors above

Henrietta Alderman receives Peter Yeo Medal

Henrietta Alderman receives prestigious Peter Yeo Medal for outstanding leadership and commitment to the AOP

Former Chief Executive is the recipient of the highest accolade awarded by the AOP

Henrietta Alderman has been presented the Peter Yeo Medal, in recognition of the extraordinary contribution she has made to the AOP, at an AOP Board and Council dinner in London on 6 June.

Ms Alderman served as the AOP’s Chief Executive between 2013 and 2021, and led the organisation through significant change, improving the effectiveness of its Council, Board and legal offer, alongside the development of unique sector services such as the 24-hour Peer Support Line.

Ms Alderman said: “Helping to shape the direction of the AOP, as such an important organisation for optometry, has been a deeply rewarding experience. I am incredibly proud to have been able to make a difference and now to witness what continues to be achieved through the dedication of colleagues and peers.

“It was a great privilege to work with the AOP’s Board, Council, and staff as well as bodies within the sector to deliver change and an outstanding level of support for members. I am immensely grateful to the AOP for the opportunity it gave me and for the many friendships too. To be awarded the Peter Yeo Medal is a perfect closing of a chapter and I am truly humbled to be given this recognition.”

Describing her outstanding service to the profession, AOP Chief Executive, Adam Sampson said: “Henrietta built a culture of excellence and member service. Throughout her tenure she was a real powerhouse not just in the AOP but in the sector as a whole, and if the sector has flourished over the past decade – and it has – it was significantly because Henrietta made it so.”

On presenting the award, outgoing Chairman, Dr Julie Anne-Little, said: “It is a mark of your enduring legacy Henrietta that the AOP Board wanted to bestow this honour on you. It is a special recognition of your outstanding leadership and commitment to the AOP which saw the organisation go from strength to strength.”

The Peter Yeo Medal is given in honour of Peter Yeo, a past Chairman of the AOP, and is the highest accolade awarded by the AOP.

Eros Business Consulting