Optical Suppliers Guide

Thankyou to our Headline Sponsors above

AAO announces 2023 GARLAND W. CLAY award recipients



The American Academy of Optometry is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2023 Garland W. Clay award:

Mutti, Donald O. OD, PhD, FAAO1*; Sinnott, Loraine T. PhD1; Lynn Mitchell, G. MAS, FAAO1; Jordan, Lisa A. PhD, FAAO1; Friedman, Nina E. OD, MS2; Frane, Sara L. OD2;

Lin, Wendy K. OD2

1College of Optometry, The Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio

2School of Optometry, University of California, Berkeley, Berkeley, California 

The Garland Clay award is presented to the authors of the manuscript published in Optometry and Vision Science (OVS) that has been among the top OVS papers cited in the world research literature in the preceding five years and has the majority vote of the Optometry and Vision Science Editorial Board. This award is for their 2018 paper:

Ocular Component Development during Infancy and Early Childhood Optom Vis Sci 2018 Nov;95(11):976-985. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/30339640/

“The Garland Clay award recognizes the most important paper published in Optometry and Vision Science over the past five years. This year’s award recognizes work by Don Mutti and colleagues who studied how the components of the eye grow and change throughout childhood,” stated Michael Twa, OD, PhD, FAAO, on behalf of the OVS Editorial Board. “Their elegant research studied hundreds of children to establish normative growth curves and developmental expectations for human vision. This work will have a lasting impact on our understanding of refractive errors and the mechanisms underlying their progression.”

“It’s hard to express how grateful the Berkeley Infant Biometry (BIBS) team is to the families and the babies – who are now old enough to have families of their own – for their contributions to the research that meant enough to others to be worthy of this recognition. Without their participation, emmetropization and the growth of the eye are still a mystery,” said Donald Mutti, OD, PhD, FAAO, Clay award recipient.

The Garland W. Clay award recipients will be recognized during the Awards Ceremony on Friday, October 13, at 8:00 am during Academy 2023 New Orleans. The ceremony will be held in Ballroom C of the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center. One hour of CE credit can be accrued during this two-hour event.

Optical Suppliers Guide
Optical Suppliers Guide